Sharp and Vicary claim the Nova Summer Road Races

Sharp and Vicary claim the Nova Summer Road Races

Men’s race

In the first race of the day 62 riders started in warm conditions with light winds but with grey high level clouds.  With 5 laps and a prime on the 2nd lap of the testing Penny Pot circuit it was going to be a tough outing.


The first laps were dispatched in quick order with the group racing around at a tidy speed.

By the last lap, a group of 9 riders including three riders from Feather Cycles Racing (Sharp, Williams and Guymer) had about 50 seconds on the chasing bunch as they crested the rise to the finish line.  Robert Mitchell (Out of the Saddle) attacked on Penny Pot and gaped the break away riders.  Taking the final bend around the HQ at Norwood and it was Mitchell still in the lead but being pursued by James Sharp (Feather Cycles Racing).  A short gap behind and the 7 remaining break away riders weren’t giving up that easily.  Neither were the bunch who were still only about 50 seconds behind.

Harrogate Nova Road Race D3S-681-(ZF-9584-92331-1-001)Sharp bridged over to the leading Mitchell and punched his way to the top to take a clear victory.  Mitchell held on for 2nd place with the 7 closing fast.  Benjamin Heywood (Evans Cycles) pipped Benjamin Heywood (East Lancashire RC) with Sharp’s team mate Stephen Guymer claiming 5th.. Max McMurdo (unattached) took 6th with local rider Glen Turnbull (Patron) 7th

Chris Sherriffs (Pendle Forest CC) took the honours from the chasing pack with Joe Williams (Prologues Performance Cycles), Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion CC), Jon Wilkinson (Chevin Cycles) rounding out the top 15.

1  James Sharp              Feather Cycles Racing
2  Robert Mitchell          Out Of The Saddle
3  Benjamin Heywood         Evans Cycles
4  Benjamin Trippier        East Lancashire RC
5  Steven Guymer            Feather Cycles Racing
6  Max McMurdo
7  Glen Turnbull            Patron
8  Fraser Rounds
9  Nick Guest               FTR
10 Matthew Williams         Feather Cycles Racing
11 Jack Cutsforth           Squadra
12 Chris Sherriffs          Pendle Forest CC
13 Joe Williams             Prologue Racing Team
14 Michael Sloanes          Sunderland Clarion CC
15 Jon Wilkinson            Chevin Cycles

Womens Race

20 ladies to the start line for the second Harrogate Nova Road Race with riders from local clubs and as far afield as Bedfordshire.

On the first lap Anna Henderson (Lovelo Cinelli RT) and Savannah Morgan (Team 22) attacked and got a small gap but unfortunately Savannah crashed on the descent into Pot Bank and the group came back together.

Tamsin Vicary Manchester Wheelers with John Reid
Tamsin Vicary Manchester Wheelers with John Reid

Anna took the prime to win her entry fee back on the first passing of the line and the climb up to little Alms Cliff was starting to take its toll.

A strong group of 9 riders then formed comprising of Tamsin Vicary (Manchester Wheelers), Rebecca Longthorp (Cliff Pratt Racing), Nicola Moore (Squadra), Holly Flannery (Triology), local riders Hannah Riechert, Donna Edmondson Booker and Lindsay Atkinson-Wright (all Alba Rossa), Anna Henderson (Lovelo Cinelli RT) and Miriam Jessett (Tyneside Vagabonds CC).

Harrogate Nova Road Race D3S-535-(ZF-9584-92331-1-005)Working well as a group the 9 ladies held it together and coming together at the bottom of the final climb to Little Alms Cliffe it was Tamsin Vicary and Nicola Moore who powered clear of the group.  Tamsin proved the stronger on the day with Nicola coming home in 2nd place. Harrogate Nova Road Race D3S-532-(ZF-9584-92331-1-003) A close battle for 3rd, 4th and 5th went to Rebecca, Anna and Holly.

Harrogate Nova Road Race D750-198-(ZF-9584-92331-1-002)The trio of Leeds based Alba Rossa riders of Hannah, Donna and Lindsey came home next.  Miriam took 9th and Evgenia Ilyinskaya (Team 10th


1  Tamsin Vicary            Manchester Wheelers Club
2  Nicola Moore             Squadra RT
3  Rebecca Longthorp        Cliff Pratt Racing
4  Anna Henderson           Lovelo Cinelli RT
5  Holly Flannery           Triology
6  Hannah Reichart          Albarosa Cycling Club
7  Donna Edmondson Booker   Albarosa Cycling Club
8  Lindsey Atkinson Wright  Albarosa Cycling Club
9  Miriam Jesset            Tyneside Vagabonds CC
10 Evgenia Ilyinskaya       Team


Photos of the race are available from Craig Zadoroznyj here.

Thanks to all the members and friends of Harrogate Nova who helped out, all the riders who took part, YorMed and the NEG for keeping them safe out on the course and for Prologue Performance Cycling for sponsoring the event.