VTTA National 10, Evening TT League Event 5 Report & Racing Round Up

Five Harrogate Nova members took part in the Veterans Time Trials Association (VTTA) National 10-mile Championship on Saturday afternoon.  One hundred and fifty riders, all over the age of 40, battled it out along the V718 course near Hull.  With prizes awarded according to actual performance against a standard, age-adjusted time, 78-year old Derek Stewart, Deeside Thistle CC, bagged the title with a superb time of 22:35 (8:23 faster than the age-standard time).

Duncan Mullier was the best placed of the Nova team clocking 20:05 (+6:18 on standard).  Ian Peacock recorded 22:00 (+5:59 on standard) just ahead of Walter Wilkinson with 23:07 (+5:55 on standard).  Tony Kent in his first competitive ride of the year stopped the clock at 22:46 (+5:28 on standard); Mike Hudson completed the Nova line up with 21:46 (+5:13 on standard).


Beech House Dental Practice Evening TT League Week 5 Report

Torrential rain seemed to put off a number of riders, with only thirty-one taking to the start line for the Dishforth-Rorecliffe-Dishforth 10 mile event.  However, a window of slightly better weather miraculously appeared at 7pm, leaving just the wind and the parcours to be mastered.

Photo taken on 20 May 2015 on Penny Pot course (Carolyn Nelson)
Corrine Mitchell – fourth Lady-Veteran record of the season & Jowett Cup winner

Duncan Mullier won for the fourth time this season, dominating the event with 22:03.  Pete Watson, Performance Coaching, was the best of a tightly packed top five behind Mullier with 23:01.  Simon Cave claimed third with 23:08, whilst Dave Morris and Al Mitchell tied for fourth with 23:14.

In the ladies event, it was a second win, and a fourth Lady-Veteran record for Corrine Mitchell who stopped the clock at 25:52.  Julie Patmore placed second (27:40) with Sarah Cave in third (33:27).

Tim Jarvis, on a makeshift set up following his crash last week, pipped Mike Hudson by eight seconds to claim best Vet-50 with 24:41.  Walter Wilkinson was fastest Vet-70 (26:00) and Richard Bellerby fastest Vet-60 (26:31).  Richard Salden knocked nearly two minutes off his previous best for the course to record 24:58.

Corrine Mitchell was also the winner of the Jowett Cup on the night.  The cup, named after Eric Jowett and first awarded in 1947, is presented to the fastest club member completing the 10 mile TT course on handicap.  This was a second win for Corrine who also took Jowett Cup honours in 2009.


Racing Round Up

In open time trials, Ted Sarmiento (in his third mountain time trial of the season) recorded 2:41:02 at the Derwentside CC 40 mile TT.

Ilkley 2-day
Julian Varley, Archie Cross & Dylan Flesher, Prologue Race Team

Nova second claim members Dylan Flesher & Julian Varley along with Prologue Race Team team mate Archie Cross took part in the Ilkley CC 2-day.   With a 1.5km prologue stage and a road race around the Penny Pot Lane circuit on Saturday, followed by a team time trial and a second road race on the Darley circuit on Sunday it was a tough two days of racing for the teenagers.  A description of the event and full results are available via velouk.net

Photo taken on 14 Sep 2014 Northallerton CX Carolyn Nelson)
Tim Evans – third on the podium at Middleton Park Summer Cross

Away from time trialling, Tim Evans took third place on the Vet-50 podium in round three of the Yorkshire Cyclo-Cross Association 2015 Summer Season at Middleton Park, Leeds.  Caught by overall winner Billy Harding, Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles Elite Racing Team, just yards before the line, the multi-lap, mixed age group event (120 riders from seven age/sex categories all competing together) provided an excellent evening of racing, with wet cut grass and a sand pit among the obstacles.  Round six of the series takes place in Harrogate (Killinghall Moor) on 24 June, with round eight in Pateley Bridge on 12 July. For more details see the Yorkshire Cyclo-Cross Association website.