Adams takes the win

The 8th event in the 2022 Beech House Dental Practice Time Trial League was a 25 miler on the A168 from Boroughbridge. The route starts from Boroughbridge, heading south to Walshford where the riders turn and head north all the way up to Dishforth before turning round and heading south to the finish at the Roecliffe roundabout. The weather was very warm with the wind mostly from the west. This crosswind provided quite favourable conditions for the riders. 15 riders took to the start line, setting off at 1-minute intervals. Aidan Adams of Nova produced the fastest time of the night with a straight 55:00 at an average speed of 27.3mph, taking his maiden win and 1st V40. Duncan Mullier (Nova), back on the bike after a few months produced a creditable 55:26 to take 2nd place and 1st V50. Mike cross (Nova) was the 3rd rider in 58:10 and 2nd V50. The 1st 3 riders were on time trial bikes. In 4th place was Rob Senior (Nova) in 1:00:08 on a road bike, just missing a sub-1 hour by 8 seconds and wishing he’d pushed himself just that bit deeper! Mark Burtonshaw of Nova was 1st V60 in 1:05:19, taking 5th position. Walter Busuttil also of Nova was the 2nd V60 in 1:06:02 and won the Thew Cup for the most improved rider on this course, verses last year. Robyn McLean was 1st lady in 1:20:01 and winner of the most improved rider over the last 3 seasons. Thanks to Margaret and Vaughan Caswell for setting up, Warren Considine for timekeeping, Lynda Wilson for number taking and Richard Salden/Ben Pease for signage/marshalling. Next week’s event is the 12-mile TT from Kirby Hill to Dishforth, Sharow, Ripon Racecourse and back. Have you considered taking part in the weekly time trials? Why not give it a go and find out how fast you can go. We welcome all members of Harrogate Nova and Moonglu. You don’t need a TT bike, bar extensions or deep section wheels…a road bike will do. Pictured is Aidan Adams in action. Image courtesy of Sarah Jane Swinscoe of