Stokes cracks the hour and wins the Thew Cup!

After a series of events ridden in poor conditions the riders at event 8, a 25 mile Time Trial between Walshford and Dishforth, were treated to an evening of sunshine. Harrogate Nova’s Duncan Mullier cruised to his seventh victory of the season with the third fastest time recorded on the course, 54:39, and is now within touching distance of regaining the title he lost to Pete Watson last season. Roger Bromiley (58:24) stood on the podium for the seventh time in his league career but this was the first time he had finished in second place. Third step on the podium was occupied by Edwin Stokes, who became the first road bike category rider to crack the hour with 59:52 in a new road bike record. Stokes also won the most improved rider, being the only rider who improved his time over the previous three seasons, and won the Thew Cup in the process. He also draws with Rob Senior on four wins each this season, as Senior was on marshalling duties. Joe Young was second placed in the road category with 1:06:27. Reigning women’s Champion, Corinne Mitchell, also cruised to a win, to post the fifth fastest time ever recorded by a woman on this course. MoonGlu’s Sally Houghton set the women’s road bike record with 1:14:10. The next event is a rolling 12 mile lap of Kirby Hill-Dishforth-Sharrow-Ripon-Kirby Hill. Full results

Photos by Roger Clarke of MoonGlu